Previous Winners

Rachael Lebeter

Rachael Lebeter was awarded The Horne Prize in 2019 for Diary of a wildlife carer — a restrained yet ultimately devastating account of the plight of native fauna in the face of climate change and diminishing biodiversity.

Rachael is a writer and English teacher living in regional NSW. She is a volunteer wildlife carer.

Daniel James

Daniel James was awarded The Horne Prize in 2018 for Ten more days — a unique, affecting account of intergenerational trauma.

Daniel is a Yorta Yorta man living on Wurrundjeri land. He is a writer and advocate who has contributed to various publications, including SBS and IndigenousX.

Kerryn Goldsworthy

Dr Kerryn Goldsworthy was awarded The Horne Prize in 2017 for The limit of the world— a poignant, knowing work about her father’s experience of dementia and the state of elder care in Australia.

Kerryn is a freelance writer, critic and former academic who lectured in literature at the University of Melbourne for 17 years. She is also the former editor of Australian Book Review, a member of the editorial team for The Macquarie PEN Anthology of Australian Literature (2009) and the editor of four other anthologies of Australian writing.

Anna Spargo-Ryan

Anna Spargo-Ryan won the inaugural round of The Horne Prize for The suicide gene— a moving yet unsentimental account of her experience of mental illness and questions stemming from her grandfather’s suicide.

Anna has written widely on mental health, relationships, parenting, and creativity, and is known for her short and longform fiction as well as non-fiction work. Her essays have been published by  The Guardian Overland, Kill Your Darlings and Black Inc., among others. Her first novel, The Paper House, was released to critical acclaim in 2016; the second, The Gulf, was published in mid-2017.